The elected leadership team has overall responsibility for planning the annual conference and quarterly training luncheons. Feel free to reach out to any of them if you are in a bind and need advice or PIO assistance in a crisis.

Elections generally happen in September each year and the results are announced at the end of the PIO Conference.

Tina Brown


Public Information Officer
Salt Lake County Emergency Management

Jess Gomez

Vice president

Director of Media Relations
Intermountain Healthcare

Nile Easton

Officer at large

Communications Director
Unified Fire Authority

John Gleason

Officer at large (actual photo coming soon)

Public Information Officer
Utah Department of Transportation

Laura Magness

Officer at large (actual photo coming soon)

Public Information Officer
Midvale City

Ben Horsley

Past president

Communications Director
Granite School District

Joe Dougherty


Director of Public Affairs
Utah Department of Public Safety

Wade Mathews


Public Information Officer
Utah Division of Emergency Management

Former presidents:

Ben Horsley, Granite School District, 2019
Roxeanne Vainuku, West Valley City Police, 2018
Wade Mathews, Be Ready Utah/Utah DEM, 2017
Justin Hoyal, Salt Lake County Sheriff’s Office, 2016
Steve Sautter, Salt Lake County Emergency Management, 2015
Susan Thomas, Division of Emergency Management, 2014
Joe Dougherty, Division of Emergency Management, 2013
Tammy Kikuchi, Department of Natural Resources, 2011-12
Brian Hyer, Department of Public Safety, 2010-11
Dwayne Baird, Salt Lake City Police, 2003
Paula Ernstrom, DPS, Emergency Services, 2001-03
Shawn Winder, Park City Fire Department, 2001
Chris Kramer, Department of Public Safety, 2000-01
Phil Kirk, Park City Police, 1997-2000