Local Joint Information Systems

Across this great state, we have seen the rise of local PIO groups and we love it.

This local group (or local joint information system, to use the terminology) should be your first line of defense against an onslaught of pressure to gather, verify, produce, disseminate and track information going out and coming in.

Jump to County and Association Contacts

ArtOfPIO has a great list of national professional associations

How to get started

This is where we need your help

Step 1: Find a champion (It may be you!)

You need someone who is willing to:

  • Wave the proverbial PIO banner.
  • Start the process of relationship building.
  • Promote contact information sharing.
  • Not give up when things go slowly.

Step 2: Call a meeting

  • You don’t need a formal agenda for your first meeting. You can just ask for a status update from those who are attending.
  • See our blog post about meeting topic ideas.
  • Document who attends.
  • Food does help get people there, even if it’s a brown-bag type event.
  • Decide on a regular meeting schedule (monthly, quarterly, etc.)

Step 3: Plan an exercise

  • Work with your county emergency manager to discuss ways PIOs will be involved in emergency response.
  • Sit down and discuss a scenario and try to figure out what resources you have or what you will need if the scenario happens in real life.
  • Document who attends and what lessons are learned.
  • Make a plan for fixing any capability or training gaps.
  • Follow up.

Best practices

From Becki Bronson in Iron County:

We’ve been going strong for about two years now and meet every other month to practice writing news releases, hold meetings with members of the media to strengthen relationships, problem solve, network, etc.

County and Association Contacts

Note to the public and media. These contacts are for training and coordination in the PIO Association only. These people are not necessarily the designated media contact for the county.

CountyNameEmail
Beaver
Box ElderEmily Malikemily.malik@loganutah.org
CacheEmily Malikemily.malik@loganutah.org
CarbonWhitney Coonrodwhitney.coonrod@carbon.utah.gov
DaggettLiberty Bestlbest@tricountyhealth.com
DavisLiz Sollisesollis@co.davis.ut.us
DuchesneLiberty Bestlbest@tricountyhealth.com
EmeryWhitney Coonrod whitney.coonrod@carbon.utah.gov
GarfieldDenise Dastrupdenisedastrup@gmail.com
GrandSamantha Bonsacksamiecat48@gmail.com
IronBecki Bronsonbeckibronson@yahoo.com
Juab
KaneAlan Alldredgeaalldredgekcso@kane.utah.gov
Millard
Morgan
Piute
RichEmily Malikemily.malik@loganutah.org
Salt LakeTina Browntbrown@unifiedfire.org
San JuanTammy Gallegostgallegos@sanjuancounty.org
Sanpete
Sevier
SummitLinda Jagerlinda.jager@parkcity.org
TooeleBucky Whitehousebwhitehouse@tcem.org
UintahLiberty Bestlbest@tricountyhealth.com
Utah
WasatchJanet Carsonadmin@wasatchcountyfiredistrict.com
WashingtonJoel Tuckerjoel.tucker@washco.utah.gov
Wayne
WeberLori Buttarslbuttars@co.weber.ut.us
PIO AssociationChristi Juddchristina.judd@slcgov.com
UAGCLinda Petersonlpeterson@emcity.org
UPSRAKimberly Birdkbird@alpinedistrict.org
Mesa County, COWebsite:MesaCountyPIO.com